The Dorney War Memorial was created in the early 1950s on the south side of Village Road, adjoining Dorney Common.
The site was originally a large pond.
The twelve oak trees planted on the site commemorate the twelve fallen servicemen who died in the 1939-1945 Second World War.
Their details are on the file below:
Following the creation of the Dorney War Memorial the Dorney Memorial Society was set up in 1954.
Its object was to help the Dorney Parish Council to care for and tend throughout the years to come the 1939-1945 War Memorial with pride as a fitting and enduring token of their esteem for their fallen Parishioners who gave their lives for their country in the War.
It is not known when the Society disbanded but the conservation of the Dorney War Memorial is now managed by Dorney Parish Council.
The Articles and Membership of the Dorney Memorial Society is on the file below:
In 1996 the War Memorial ground was refurbished and in 2016 a local resident, Jeff Day, repainted the lettering on the Memorial Stone.
2016 re-lettered Memorial Stone picture to come